User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2011, 03:34 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default The truth about these new oil field jobs.

Does anyone have any sound info on what they are TRULY about? From A-Z please.

Thank you
Old 10-21-2011, 01:20 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieVHrules View Post
Does anyone have any sound info on what they are TRULY about? From A-Z please.

Thank you
Yeah. They are jobs that require hard work and dedication.
Old 10-24-2011, 03:58 PM
Rookie

It's hard work, eats up a lot of your life, but pays very well. Most people quit and that's good for me because I don't want this market flooded with people willing to work for nothing like the otr market.
Old 10-24-2011, 06:20 PM
Board Regular

I'm home in Michigan, on break right now, from the ND oil patch. Right now I am with Baker Hughes, working as an Equipment Operator, my pay has taken a bit of a hit, but the bennies make up for it. Starting pay is roughly $23 and hour. They pay for housing (Private rooms at places like The Quality Inn, Ramada, Microtel, Best Western, etc.), travel to and from the house (full airline cost reimbursement or .50 a mile if you drive), immediate benefits, Blue Cross Blue Shield, eye, dental, 401k, stock options, etc., upon completion of two week orientation (which I was paid $2200 net to attend). They give you all clothing, winter gear, etc., including prescription safety glasses, you need to buy your own steel toed boots and long underwear.