User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2007, 11:17 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default FedEx Investigation could benefit drivers

Hi All –

I just read about an investigation into FedEx and how it is misclassifying its drivers. Apparently it has been intentionally misclassifying independent contractors on purpose to boost company profits and reduce operating costs.

There have been over 40 cases already filed in courts nationwide and now is a good time for any FedEx driver to speak up regarding your experience.

For more information click here. http://www.hbsslaw.com/FedEx_investi...d=aZqmt3xz2N85
Old 03-05-2007, 11:21 PM
Senior Board Member

Many O/O, if you go strictly by IRS guidelines, are in fact company employees being paid as independant contractors.

What is even worse there are company drivers being paid this way as well.
Old 03-06-2007, 02:37 AM
Board Regular

I'm a UPS driver so I know a little about what is going on. It only applies to Fedex Ground drivers. Several years ago they bought out RPS and form Fedex Ground. RPS drivers owned their routes and areas and were independent contractors. Fedex came in and started treating them like employees. Changing areas, uniforms, how to deliver, how to walk, how to drive, etc. The only thing they could control is when they started work. Fedex also would pulled contracts from these guys and they would lose everything.

A lot of them have had enough and have been suing Fedex saying they were misclassified as independent contractors and should be employees. This would cost Fedex millions of dollars for taxes, fuel, trucks, maintenance, route pay backs, etc. Once they are classified as employees the company will have to pay the independent contractors back for all of their expenses and taxes.

So far Fedex has lost every case. Still years away from resolution, but it doesn't good.
Old 03-06-2007, 01:07 PM
Senior Board Member