User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2007, 12:48 AM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Well I made it out

So I'm an owner operator officially now. A little over a year ago I was coming out of CDL school. I drove local for 6 months then OTR for another 6 and now I'm out here in my own truck. If I didn't wake up the last few nights thinking "what the did I get myself into" I'd be lying. I remember reading in the beginning of Steve Booth's thread that in the beginning he was calling GMAN panicking or something like that, well If I had his number I probably would be doing the same.

One thing I'm determined is to make sure that I didn't just by myself a job. So I probably will be doing a separate thread about the numbers I'm running; sort of like a diary but just for the numbers. It is good to see how to improve things and the help on this board is invaluable.

My first load which I'm still on was out of Miami which is real bad for freight right now (well I guess it always is). I got 10 pallets of produce with 3 stops. Louisiana, Texas and Oklahoma. All to walmart dc's. Total mileage was about 1500 and it's a flat rate of $2150. It came to about $1.41 total per mile. Plus I am unloading it myself. One for the few minutes it takes to unload I'll take the money and two, it's a brand new trailer and I don't want them banging up the walls with the forklifts. One guy even commented how nice the trailer was and said most of them have holes in the walls. And thirdly I'm thin and fit and want to stay that way.

I should add that my first two trips to Walmart went well. I delivered to them before with my previous company and they were a pain, but I think, and it's only my first load so I can't state this for fact, but they don't like to have produce sitting around. I hope it stays like this.