User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2009, 05:52 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Nervous

Hello!

I am in need of some advice and words of wisdom. I am starting trucking school on Tuesday and expect to be working by Thanksgiving or the first of December at the latest. This a big career change for me. My career background has been mainly in the corporate world(I have a degree in human resources along with holding a series 7, series 63, property and casualty insurance license, and a life accident and health insurance license) but when I lost my job back in April, I decided I wanted to do something for me. I tried working with Aflac for a couple of months but had to give it up due to the fact that it was 100% commission and there was nothing coming in. I hit on the idea of truck driving through a friend and went on several runs with him (including going over the road) to see what it would be like.

As I said before, I start school on Tuesday. To say I am not nervous would be a lie. I'm trying not to look at the big picture because it frightens me. But I do have questions about being a female and being in this industry. By biggest concern is exactly how safe is it for a woman to drive alone? I know the cab is your home on wheels and it's not being in the cab alone that scares me. It's the idea of being at a truck stop for the night and having to get up and go to the bathroom but possibly being park so far away. I have traveled alone many times but it's been in my car and I wasn't required by the DOT to stop at after a certain period of time. I'm not sure that I want to team with someone as I like being able to do my own thing.

Like I said, words of wisdom and encouragement and advice are more than welcome.
Old 10-25-2009, 09:31 PM
Board Regular