User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2006, 05:17 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Layed off from Roadway and want to go OTR

Thought I would post this secnario, and see what people's opinions were.

I was layed off this week with Roadway, I will probably get called back in mid January. I would like to go OTR for a month or two. First is do you think it will be hard to find a company willing to put me out for that short period of time? I live in Ohio so I don't want to have to go to NC or MO for orientation, I refuse to take a bus so I will be driving. I have 2 years good experience and spotless driving record and work record.
What I have been honestly thinking is trying to drive for JB Hunt, Swift or Schieder. I want to see what it is really like for them, everyone says they are the worst companys to drive for and I want to find out. I could care less what they pay, but I cannot stand to sit here at home. One other thing, I have never been to California and would like to go (would like to cross Donners pass) Any input, information, suggestions or even smart ass comments are welcome.

Old 11-17-2006, 06:05 PM
Senior Board Member

I am a former Swift driver, and regardless of what everyone says, it comes down to it is what you want to make of it. I had times when I hated the company, and times when they treated me great. Sometimes the freight was there, sometimes it wasn't. Just like any other company really. It just takes time to learn their systems, and to find a driver manager that you can really work well with.

EDIT - I also ran out of the Columbus, OH terminal for a while, and one of their extended coverage guys was my driver manager... top notch. I would honestly go back to Swift today, no questions asked if I could have him for my DM again.
Old 11-17-2006, 06:09 PM
Rookie

You said it was ok to smart butt so, if you want temporary why not try KBR?

Actually, i am being serious.