User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2011, 01:07 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Is USXPRESS experience looked down upon because of autoshift trans?

Do companies look at USX experience in a different light than others because they have auto shift transmissions where your not getting the experience in shifting that you usually need? Or do most companies not worry about it and/or just offer a refresher course in shifting?

Thanks in advance for any info.
Old 12-24-2011, 05:20 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

It isn't just USX. If most of your driving experience is with an autoshift, you could face problems if you plan to switch to a carrier that has straight shift transmissions. I don''t know of any carriers that offer training or a refresher on shifting. You will usually be expected to know how to shift if you hold a CDL.
Old 12-25-2011, 05:18 AM
Board Icon

I don't know about "companies," but as a DRIVER I certainly DO. If I owned a company, I certainly would. Might as well connect a GPS to an autoshift and a "remote controlled camera" and have grandma supplement her Soc Sec income by sitting in the driver's seat while knitting ME a scarf!

From what I've seen.... I'll bet on Grandma to "bump the dock" in less tries!

Automation... Resignation.... Wussification... Pussification...

The entire ECONOMY depends on truckers.... and we are seeing the REAL ones phased out (through CSA2010 and other measures) in favor of the "downsized" college graduate who can "integrate" with the equipment of the future, and "follow the rules."

TRUCKIN' AIN'T FOR WUSSES!!!

"I am willing to admit that I was wrong." The Rev.
Old 12-28-2011, 12:32 AM