User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2009, 12:29 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Unpaid Internships In Trucking?

Here's my situation. I graduated from Sage Driving School in June of 2005 with a Class-A with all endorsements except HazMat. Started with a flatbed company but ran into trouble when tarping loads in the summer sun. Got headaches, mini fainting spells, and some sort of heat exhaustion attacks. I guess I just can't work out in the summertime sun. I got fired, and shortly thereafter got a job driving tri-axle dump trucks in our local construction industry. Did that for a year and greatly enjoyed it.
Then, in September 2006, I unexpectedly came into a large inheritance. The house I inherited was an old fixer-upper and I quit my driving job to stay home to work on it and keep an eye on all the contractors I had hired.
This took several months, and by the time I was ready to start driving again, the local "construction boom" had ended. Most of the dump truck companies were out of business, and those that survived stopped hiring.
Since I had also inherited a considerable amount of money, this turn of events didn't present a hardship for me. I've been coasting along, unemployed, for several years.
However, now I'm going stir-crazy. I'd like to be back behind the wheel again.
My biggest problem is the lack of an over-the-road resume.
I have an idea I'd like to bounce off of you guys. Would it be possible to become an unpaid co-driver just to accumulate OTR experience? Would this result in a useable resume I could present to trucking companies sometime in the future?
This might seem like a crazy idea, but I have enough money in the bank to where I can afford to work for free for awhile. The only thing I'd ask is that my employer/co-driver feed me while I'm on the road with him. I don't want this enterprise to actually COST me anything, even if I am working for free.