User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2008, 03:23 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Is there life after termination?

I am a very new driver. I completed training with Werner in December and got a job in January. I worked for six weeks before getting pneumonia. I took time off to get well, then found out my CDL had been disqualified, due to some information I forgot to turn into the state. I have that all taken care of and my CDL is up to date again.

However, the reason I'm writing is because I was terminated by Werner. I had a couple of minor backing accidents on Werner property or it's customer's property (I backed into a fence). The other accidents involved running into a mattress on a highway, and my trainer told me to do this because the SUV it fell off of was over on the side of the road, and I couldn't go left because of the traffic, the other was getting stuck in snow while trying to back up.

No one was killed or injured during these incidents. The trailer I backed into was slightly scratched. When I ran over the mattress, there wasn't any damage to the truck. When I got stuck in the snow, I had to be towed out, and the fence was slightly dented, but still upright. The support post for the barbed wire separated from the regular fence post.

Werner terminated me because of these accidents. I am wondering if there is any hope for me to get a job as a driver. I nearly bankrupted myself to change careers and go to trucking school and get a CDL. I am worried sick that all this may be for nothing.