User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2008, 11:39 PM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Join Army or drive a truck?

Well I always get the most help from this website and I have a problem, I have decided to either join the Army, dont know if ill go active or reserves, or go drive a truck get some experience and see where it takes me. A little background, I'm 30 years old married with two kids I have always wanted to join but never did and the same with driving a truck and I have been tossing this Army idea around for almost 2 years now and I know it would be a good future but I dont know if I would stay in for 20 or not. What do you guys think?
Old 03-27-2008, 11:55 PM
Board Regular

Join the Army, better pay and benefits.
Old 03-28-2008, 12:01 AM

If you want to risk your life at work everyday and spend endless nights away from home then join the army....at least you get to blow things up.
Old 03-28-2008, 12:08 AM

If you want to risk your life at work everyday and spend endless nights away from home then go OTR....but you won't get to blow things up. :lol:
Old 03-28-2008, 12:48 AM
Senior Board Member

well atleast with trucking if you find you don't like it after 6 months and want to quit you're free to do so . :wink: ... And lets face it the reality of it is driving a truck is no where near the danger of being shipped over seas and having a bullys eye on your head every day .
Old 03-28-2008, 01:03 AM
Board Regular

Remember...if you drive a truck for 10 years and decide you should have joined the army...you'll be too old by then...

If you join the army....well....you're almost never too old to drive a truck!

I was in the army for 4 years...it often sucked, but the pay and benefits were great, and I most definitely learned more about life during those four years than I had in the previous 20! I spent time in Afghanistan, but not Iraq...and I wouldn't trade any of it for anything!