User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2007, 01:29 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Wanna be driver, with question

First of all im 24, and would like nuthing more to drive a truck and see the U.S. I have no kids, no wife, nor am I involved with anyone, so I would think right now would be a great time to start. Im a Computer tech and i hate settingin a office, working on these things. But my question is when I was 21 I got a DWI, that was 3years ago sence then I have paid my fine and ect. and got my regular Lic reinstated. My question is, is having that on my record going to keep me from getting a CDL and Trucking career? Please discuss. and thanks in advance for all your input. :?
Old 07-26-2007, 01:41 PM
Senior Board Member

Most companies want a 5 year span of clean driving since the DUI.
Old 07-26-2007, 02:22 PM
Rookie

You say most look for 5years clean record, so not all hope is lost then? or am i just being hopful.
Old 07-26-2007, 02:27 PM
Senior Board Member

After 5 years you have a chance, but it is still going to be a major obstacle.
Old 07-26-2007, 03:06 PM
Rookie

Thanks for your help guys.
Old 07-26-2007, 08:35 PM
Board Icon

MANY companies only require a 3 year period since the conviction date. However, SOME companies also require a 3 year period since reinstatement of your license.

If you did your classes right away, and got your license back "right away," and you find a company that only wants to see a 3 year MVR, and it has been 3 years since you got your licence back.... you will have a clean MVR, and as good a chance as MOST.

Fill out an app on the link on this site. Say it has been 3 years, and see who responds.

Then go looking/calling for smaller companies that don't have such tight restrictions, and see what they say. I would NOT sit and wait another two years before attempting to get a job, if that is what you want to do.