User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2009, 02:14 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Red face Curious about Steven's Transport...

I've recently been thinking about getting into trucking. My boyfriend drove for about 8 years, but now he has a permanent mechanics job. I on the other hand, even though I have a degree in Technical Theatre, am finding it hard to get good, steady employment. I road OTR with my boyfriend quite often for the better part of a year so I have a good idea of what the lifestyle is like.

I don't have much money now so I've been looking into company sponsored training. I realize that a large majority of companies have stopped offering company training and I've also read alot on these boards about which company is better then the other. Seems that the consensus is that Swift isn't that great, my boyfriend agrees by the way. But I haven't heard much, if anything about Steven's Transport. I was just wondering if anyone had trained with them or knew anyone who had.

Just curious. Thanks for your constructive information!
Old 05-22-2009, 04:54 AM

I would probably disagree about Swift being worse than Stevens. I know a number of Swifties and they seemed as content as anyone. I believe you would have more options with Swift than with Stevens, and would most likely have more hometime with Swift. Stevens has a reputation for keeping drivers out for long periods of time.
I drove for Schneider and they would be the best choice for training, but they are not accepting students at this time. I would recommend looking at Watkins-Shepard, they seem to not have much negative posted about them, if any.

My choices would be now in this order;

1. Swift
2. Watkins-Shepard (2nd because they have no training time after CDL school, right to the road)
3. Central Refrigerated
4. Stevens Transport

With any of these companies you will get adequate training and be able to move on to a better company in about a year or so.