User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2007, 06:01 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Recruiters

I am new to the boards but have been viewing them for quite some time. I have been driving truck locally for 7 years with the same company in Utah. I drive double belly dumps hauling coal out of a local coal mine in mountainous terrain, with a total weight with truck,trailer and load of 129000. I would like to eventually go over the road and maybe purchase my own truck someday. Most companies tell me that I do not have any OTR experience and would have to take the driving school again. I done this over seven years ago and do not want to pay the money again for no reason. Two companies have told me that I would be an advanced student and would only have to go with a trainer for two weeks minimun, after orientation, depending on how fast I pick up docking and logs. One was Gordon Trucking out of Washington State and US Xpress. Gordon also offered to give me credit of 3.5 Years over the road for my seven Locally. So my starting pay per mile would be higher (.37). Does this sound right or is it BS? An Auto shift would be nice for a change also(US Xpress). I would appreciate any advice on the matter. Thank You.
Old 09-10-2007, 06:08 PM

That sounds pretty fair.Would beat starting all over again.U.S Xpress is a mega carrier,but you have to start somewhere.I would say go for it.
Old 09-10-2007, 06:46 PM
Rookie