User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2017, 03:59 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Company driver to Owner operator.

Hello guys! I am an owner operator wannabe after working for past 12 years as a company driver. Not that I disliked my job, but driving my own truck was always my dream. I am a little confused about whether to buy a truck or lease it for now. As I have already said, I want to drive my own truck, so buying is preferred. But I have also thoughts about truck leasing now, getting used to it and then move on and buy one. How is that for a plan? It also helps with the cost for a while at least. Or is that a bad option and should I look to take a truck loan and buy one directly. It would be great if someone who has experience of moving from a company driver to an owner operator could provide me with some advice.
Old 02-24-2017, 02:42 AM
Board Icon

I'm not just saying this because I drive for them, but Schneider is a good place if you do the lease. They don't seem as if they are just preying on folks with their lease program. I've heard too many GOOD things about their program. Being that cost is an issue to start, I understand looking to lease vs buy right now. SNI will essentially open their books for you to help you succeed as an IC/Owner Operator unlike the England's and such who just want your money! If you do buy outright and still want to tag onto SNI, make sure you do your homework on what's allowed for trucks with them. Can't be too old of a truck, etc etc. They will also demand that their OnGuard System is installed on YOUR truck these days from what I hear!
Old 02-24-2017, 11:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Ford95 View Post