User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2010, 04:12 PM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Refusing to Haul $50.00 Yard Haul cost me my Regular Job??

This is what I have come up against. I have been hauling logs off the woodyard for a company for the past 3 1/2 years with no problems other than some slowdowns which is expected.

4 months ago the company started chipping the wood 60% of it and this is when the problem started. This is what it involves: Hook up to a Chip van, haul it approx 1 mile to plant, back up to the Chip Dropper, drop it, get it unloaded (Machine Tipper does this), hook back up go back to woodyard mill, drop that Trailer, hook up to another trailer and repeat the process. Pay is $50.00 per load which I balked at and told the Company Boss that $50.00 was not a fair amount since it was alot of wear and tear on Truck of backing, hooking, rehook, dollying down, so forth so on. Boss says ok, then goes and hires a guy who is willing to do this and he has been doing it for the past 3 months (now his clutch is going out on him). Another thing is sometimes the load is not ready so I had to back up to van with chip dust coming out of Van and getting on my Truck and in my Breathers, which in essence is going to wind up in my motor if not very careful.

Monday of this week, Boss asks me to start hauling loads for him, again I tell him, I have been with your company for 3 1/2 years and never ever have I complained about the rates or anything, but I will not haul it for $50.00 a load it just isn't fair.

Hauled 2 loads since then (logs), and was told last night when called in that "We will call you if we need you".