User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2009, 11:36 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Please experienced O/O give your opinion......

I've been surfing this board for a few months now, and would like to jump in and post something for consideration. I'll keep it as short as I can, I'm thinking about going for it with my own authority (2 of us together actually) and need to purchase a truck. Here are my rough figures or business plan if you want to call it. I think if you don't know what it's costing you to operate, you're screwed from the get go, which is why I've laid it out like this. The "Company Investment" is a $ amount that we've agreed to try and put away for future expansion and is totally optional at this point. I understand there will be some deadhead miles, but I'm hoping the better paying loads will average that loss out.

ASSUMPTIONS:

2500 MILES/WK AVG
FUEL--$2.50/GAL
FUEL ECONOMY--5.5MI/GAL
LINE HAUL RATE--$1.20/MILE

EXPENSE COST PER MILE
TRUCK PAYMENT (743/MTH) 0.074
TRAILER LEASE (300/MTH+MAINT) 0.05
FUEL 0.45
TRUCK MAINTENANCE 0.1
INSURANCE (8000/YR-W/2500 DOWN) 0.04
LOAD BOARDS 0.01
FACTORING(@ 3% OF INVOICE) 0.036
INTERNET 0.01
TOLLS 0.016
FUEL TAX 0.002
HIGHWAY USE TAX 0.004
BASE PLATE 0.012
COMPANY INVESTMENT (5% OF GROSS) 0.06

OPERATING COST PER MILE 0.864
LINE HAUL RATE 1.2

PROFIT PER MILE 0.336

WEEKLY GROSS 840

Three Questions:

Do these numbers look reasonable?

Have I missed anything?

Alot of guys I talk to are scared of the VED12 & the Cummins ISX engines. WHY? The truck I'm looking at has the ISX.

I know freight is down right now, and I feel I've been conservative on my estimates, but would like some opinions from others if I may ask. I've been a company driver for about 2years, but this ain't the same animal.............and truthfully its less per week than I'm making now, but I pull automotive and my route is going away in October with no new prospects from my current company.......