User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2008, 04:31 PM
Board Icon
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Big kitty CATs

I ran out of lunchmeat, so I didn't even bother making anything to eat last night. I figured that I would just stop on the way home, and grab something. I stopped at the Town & Country in Ralls. Little town about 30 miles east of Lubbock. This Town & Country is pretty small, but big enough to hold a few trucks. I was pulling in, and I noticed a cow truck sitting there in front, facing east. There are a lot of feedlots around Lubbock, and most of the cow trucks I see, are the same ones running back-and-forth. I didn't recognize the name on his porch light. Of course, every time I see a cow truck (especially at night) I'm like, oooh, ahhh! and this one was dressed up real nice. Well, he had his hood open, and idling. He was standing on the right side. Little bitty guy. I'm not a mechanic, but I walked over there, and asked him if everything was alright. He told me that he was. I said, "man, that kitty cat sounds good." He said, "yes sir. six and a quarter." I stood there for a second, and then I realized what he said. I thought, "my gosh man!" I figured he had a 475, or 550, or something. Anyway, he thanked me for stopping by, and I got something to eat, and left. Of course, he blew my doors off about 20 minutes later. :clap:

So, anyway...I've been around trucks (mostly grain trucks etc) all my life. I'm not an idiot, but I've never heard such a thing. I've been around CATs, and driven them. (the truck in my avatar has a 425 CAT) If I was an owner operator, I would want something that could run 70 uphill, and downhill, but man..625 horses?. No wonder those cow trucks always bury the speedometer. I'm sure he gets decent fuel milage, if geared right, since that motor probably very seldom pulls down, but man...

Do any of yall run around with 600 some-odd horses?

http://watsonsysco.com/
Old 12-11-2008, 05:02 PM
Senior Board Member