User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2008, 07:55 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Getting into the biz question.

I know I'll get blasted by some of you for this question.. :sad:

But, simply put, are there any companies out there that will allow an owner operator WITHOUT any recent verifiable experience to contract with them?

I'm a former driver, but, it's been many years. does Burlington Motor Carriers ring a bell with anyone? Been that long. So, while I'm not experienced in the way many of you would like to go into this biz, I'm no complete rookie either. yea, I know, a lot has changed. I'm even willing to go back to school to "polish up", but, I've got a truck at my disposal (family member who can't drive anymore) It's paid for and he wants very little in compensation.

I'm just researching my options here....so don't hang me on the gallows just yet. I've been lurking here long enough to know far too well how many of you are going to react to this kind of question. :lol:

Thank you in advance to those who seriously answer my question.
Old 09-12-2008, 08:10 PM

Thats a long time. You have dust on top of dust. LOL I would have to say no to your question. But I am sure that you will get alot more other posters on here that will be nicer. :lol: BOL
Old 09-12-2008, 08:27 PM
Senior Board Member

Not a chance, most want at least 2 years recent experience..The only way would be to lease to an owner operator with his own authority
Old 09-12-2008, 11:15 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDiesel
Insurance will be your biggest hurdle.
That depends. I'm not familar with leasing onto a company and what they'll require for insurance, but if he was to get his own authority the insurance companies go by the length of time you've held a cdl.