User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2008, 01:49 AM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Could someone explain this math to me?

I am a local driver and get paid hourly, but the company I work for (Jacobson Transportation) pays their owner/operators $0.93 per mile.

Lets say (for the sake of argument) that the truck payment is $1300 a month, insurance is $12,000 a year (worst case senario), fuel is $4 a gallon (a very conservative number), your getting 6 mpg, and your running 12,000 miles a month...

Your gross income would be $11,160.

Fuel would run you about $8000, truck payment is $1300, insurance is $1000. Just those three expenses run you $10,300. Yes I know there are a lot more, but thets just focus on those three.

That leaves $860 a month gross.

My question is... thousands of people do this everyday... figuring in taxes, paying yourself, running costs, depreciation, and a dozen other things... how in the HELL do they make it???

I am very interested in purchasing a truck, but my calculator tells me that would be a major mistake... what am I missing? (Smart-asses need not reply)
Old 08-28-2008, 02:02 AM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: Could someone explain this math to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rigidsporty
I am a local driver and get paid hourly, but the company I work for (Jacobson Transportation) pays their owner/operators $0.93 per mile.

Lets say (for the sake of argument) that the truck payment is $1300 a month, insurance is $12,000 a year (worst case senario), fuel is $4 a gallon (a very conservative number), your getting 6 mpg, and your running 12,000 miles a month...

Your gross income would be $11,160.

Fuel would run you about $8000, truck payment is $1300, insurance is $1000. Just those three expenses run you $10,300. Yes I know there are a lot more, but thets just focus on those three.

That leaves $860 a month gross.