User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2008, 07:34 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Old vs New

Here's my situation, I've been a company driver for about 7 years and always wanted to run my own truck. So finally things are falling into place to where I can buy one. I have work lined up running about <2500 miles a week, mainly all highway miles, the year of the truck is not an issue with the company.

There are a couple older trucks with mechanical engines for sale in my area reasonably priced and look good that are for sale. I can buy one of the older trucks and have it payed off in months or I can buy a 70k truck and pay on it for the next 4-5 years.

So what are your honest opinions?
Old 02-13-2008, 08:22 PM

How old is old, and what's wrong with a $45K truck? More doesn't always mean better.

Please elaborate a liitle.
Old 02-13-2008, 08:41 PM
Senior Board Member

If you hustle you might be able to pay off 70k in a few months too. :lol:

Right now trucks are cheap. You don't need to spend 70k.
Old 02-13-2008, 09:18 PM
Rookie

Enobeenob, I just looked at an 84 pete 359. I am not really interested in that one, too much work needs to be done and has been sitting for a few years. I'm looking for a 359, 379exhd, or a w900L preferably a daycab. I need atleast 500hp or more. If I can find what I am looking for around 45k thats fine. Most of the newer trucks I'm interested in are more than 45k.

Bigmon, I need to hangout with you!
Old 02-13-2008, 09:18 PM
Senior Board Member

Judging by the past similar topics, consensus is gonna be.-"Buy cheaper and older"... :lol:
Personally, i still believe in;-You got what you paid for... :roll:
But it all doesn't really matter! Just buy whatever you will comfortable with! 8)
Old 02-13-2008, 11:55 PM

Just out of curiousity, how old is too old with regard to a truck? In the $9K-20K range, there is everything from 1989 model Peterbilts to 2000 model Freightliners.