User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2007, 07:55 PM
Senior Board Member
Location: California...yup beautifull Hollywood just over the hill
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default K...what am I missing?

Hmmm let me start by mentioning I am very new to this own authority thing, I am very shocked to see the only two loads I have booked have been thru major carriers, Steven's and Schneider....so if I can book decent loads thru them at 1.50-1.60 dry van....why the hell would I want to lease to them for 90c plus feul surcharge, and then get stuck with heavy a$$ loads not going where I choose?
Now I quess if you get a good dispatcher (driver mgr or whatever they call it) I quess things could be ok. But never been my luck as a Co. driver, just always got some clown waiting till it was friday and putting in his hours and couldnt give a $hit bout me.
Just occurs to me when I see so many peps here asking...should I lease here or there?
Old 05-12-2007, 09:28 PM
Senior Board Member

Well, it's seems to me, that you are missing your unpaid DH miles, increased operation costs(own trailer...) longer times to get paid(if ever)

At the end of your first year, get your average rate, for all miles run, and you might see, that it's not much different(if any), than $0.90+FSC(currently, probably about $1.20 a mile) And their costs, is probably $0.15-20cpm lower than yours, with a lot less headache!

Don't get me wrong, I'm not criticizing you, or anybody. You just asked, what you are missing, and i just trying to give you my perception on that.

Eventually, it doesn't really matter, what your official status is.
It's all come down to money, whether you are making it, or not! :wink: 8)
Old 05-12-2007, 11:39 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by solo379
Well, it's seems to me, that you are missing your unpaid DH miles, increased operation costs(own trailer...) longer times to get paid(if ever)