User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2007, 03:57 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Is it that bad?

According to this article it seems pretty bad. I know as a company driver I have been doing a lot of sitting. Would like to hear how you guys are doing or any other insight you might have into the following article. Was thinking of getting a truck in a month or so but I think I might wait.

FEATURE-US truckers grim as freight slows, future clouds
Mon Apr 9, 2007 3:27 PM ET

(Paragraph 18 contains language that may be offensive to some readers.)

By Nick Carey

DAVENPORT, Iowa, April 9 (Reuters) - Every hour that truck-driving team Barbara and Robert Skeel sit around waiting for a load to haul, they're losing money.

"Business is pretty bad," said Barbara, the more vocal half of this man-and-wife team, while killing time at the Flying J truck stop in eastern Iowa. "Not just for us. Everyone is feeling the pressure right now."

The Skeels -- a driving team for more than 20 years -- hire out their truck to a company that contracts for FedEx Corp. <FDX> express freight unit FedEx Custom Critical that specializes in time-sensitive freight. Driving teams are ideal for moving goods quickly as they can alternate at the wheel without stopping to rest as single drivers must do by law.

After waiting for nearly 48 hours, the Skeels were finally told they would get a load heading to Florida, where they live.

"We've been stuck here making no money," Robert said glumly, a lit cigarette hanging precariously from his lip.

Interviews with other truckers in Iowa, along Interstate 80 -- a major commercial artery stretching 2,900 miles coast to coast from downtown San Francisco to the suburbs of New York -- paint a gloomy picture of weak freight volumes and pricing pressures reflecting the slowdown in the U.S. trucking sector.