User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2007, 02:21 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default want to be o/O

I'm a new driver (6 months) with an OTR van company and interested in becoming o/o. Really want a dedicated route out of S. Florida and back, not interested in running all 48 states anymore. I'm 40 and managed to hide a few bucks away from my daughters (they're in college need I say more) so i can afford to buy a truck. I enjoy driving and was thinking o/o would allow me to run the States I liked and put a few bucks in my pocket. I'm not trying to make millions just hoping to put food on the table doing something I like. Can anyone tell me if this is realistic and where i can find info about becoming an o/o. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.
Old 02-14-2007, 03:26 AM

I'll start with the first anwser. Stay with your company for some time. You've got six months in, and things are going good I'm guessing. Good to know you have cash saved. Save some more, and when you think you've saved enough, save even more. Keep asking questions, and give it a another year or so to decide if you want to make an investment in the buisness.

I love to drive, but there are days were I'd like to throw my self through the front windshield. I'm still in the begining stages of becoming an O/O, meaing I'm still looking at my options of financing, or straight out buying a decent used truck. . And I've been driving for 6+ years, 5 of those wanting to make the change. Take your time, don't rush.

Old 02-15-2007, 06:48 PM
Senior Board Member

Same thing serbie said AND remember you need that 2 years exp in order to get ins. that does not restrict your driving distances. Also you will have a much better undrstanding of the trucking business in general.

tootie

Adopt a Minpin
minpinrescue.org
Old 02-17-2007, 01:29 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon