User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2007, 08:31 PM
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Default Lease payments and tax benefits?

Does anyone know anything about this? http://www.pwli.com/

Making lease payments is a tax benefit??

Lets say I wanted to buy a truck for $40,000 and wanted to go through these guys. I'd pay a lease payment every month and at the end of my term make a %10 baloon payment at the end and the truck is mine?

I'm confused. :?
Old 01-25-2007, 01:04 AM

That really suprises me that nobody can tell me about this.

How many members on here want to talk about "fleece" purchasing (and I agree to some extent) but here I am offering a way for you to lease a truck of your choice outside of the company you work for! (and no I don't work for this company, I'm an OTR driver)

Give me some feedback folks? GMAN?
Old 01-25-2007, 01:09 AM

The obvious disadvantage to this is you would still be responsible for the routine maintenence and breakdown. As well as building no equity in it :shock: but the advantage of it is, if things arent going so well at the company you're at now you can go to another company.
Old 01-25-2007, 01:20 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

I would tend to stay away from programs like this. Words like non-cancelable, and lessee pays all taxes and insurance fees, are red flags when you have a monthly payment during slow times.

There are tax advantages to leasing, but only if you are making a huge profit, and not scraping by week to week.

Just my opinion, and I was a bit turned off by their web site, seems like a company that has been around since 1987 could afford a better site.
Not to mention that they seem to have their hands in all kinds of commercial equipment, makes me think they have too many irons in the fire to be able to be focused.
I could be wrong, but first impressions,....you know what they say.
Old 01-25-2007, 01:22 AM

Here's a copy of the email that was sent to me...

Quote: