User Tag List

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2006, 07:05 AM
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Default From desk to own authority

From desk to own authority

I figured I would start another thread to mark my progress for all you wannabies. I’m 52 and have been an engineer since I graduated college in the 70’s. I worked for Digital for 11 years then went out onto my own as a consultant doing embedded systems programming with a specialty in device drivers and operating systems. For the past 2 years I’ve held a full time job working in a laboratory aiding scientists with there experiments by creating custom programs running on various platforms to collect data or control there test. The past 10 years has not been real fun like the old days when the phone rang off the hook with recruiters trying to buy me away from my current job. Now it seems that every contract or job is just temporary and you can’t count on anything other than being employed day by day and planning on the future with your current job is just plain non existent.

I’ve always loved trucks and figured now was the time to take the plunge. I was sick of always waiting for the axe to fall. I found a local school here in New England and got my CDL/A doing part time at nights and weekends at a cost of $3,600.