User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2013, 02:42 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default help shifting gears!

Hello all. I am a trucking student and im starting a drive a semi on the road tomorrow. how do i know when to shift the truck? is it by rpms or is it easier using mph? any advise would be greatly appreciated. thanks
Old 09-30-2013, 04:26 AM
Rookie

You can both, RPM'S or Mph. Depends on your steering wheel too in order to peek at the gauges. Also trainers don't like you to take away your eyes from the road to look at the gauges after every shift. I'm sure that they want double clutching too. Just pay attention and don't listen to the negative from other students. When you are experience, you can judge the speed and shift without looking at the gauges.
Old 09-30-2013, 10:29 PM
Rookie

hi driver of the year. thanks for the advice. so today when i drove the instructor wanted me to shift at about 1200-1500 rpms for each gear. and yes double clutching is somewhat a challenge at this point. thank you
Old 10-01-2013, 02:26 AM
Rookie

Yea Cheryl, keep us posted how it goes. It's a good source of information in theses Trucking Forums. We can give you a heads up if they are really teaching you or just trying to add money to their coffers. My profile here says Rookie but I been Driving for 8 years and pulled multiple type of trailers. Would like to hear from your experiences day to day. Thanks.
Old 10-01-2013, 10:30 AM
Board Icon
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

I went by rpm's and sound of the motor, when I first learned, and would watch my speed after shifting.
You want to learn to let your gears do the work, and just keep your motor from over revving or lugging.

1200-1500rpm is a good range to learn, because beginners tend to vary more rpm's between shifts, especially when they miss a gear.