User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2012, 07:23 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default New to trucking, help needed.

Hey everyone, im looking for some advice to help me get into trucking. ive done everything right so far, atleast in my head. i went to a reputable school. got my class A license, with several endorsements (HazMat included.) the only thing holding me back is my lack of experience, and a slight hiccup in my past, going back about 2 years ago. the issue in the past is truly whats holding me back. to be forthcoming and try and get the advise i need, heres what i did. back in 09, i was in the army, got a bit depressed, lost self controll and used marijuana, got caught, and was discharged early 2010 with a general under honorable discharge. i really want to be a driver, and have put forth alot of effort and money into this already. and, while i may not be the best judge of this, i feel like im a damn good driver. im very aware, and i understand the truck, and trucking industry very well. my school marks were always above 90, only like 2 of them were 85s. all i need is an oppurtunity. where can i find this at?
Old 01-09-2012, 08:08 PM
Board Icon

If you got an honorable discharge, what is causing the problem? Are you answering "yes" to ever failing a drug test for an employer? Not sure you have to DO that. I could be wrong, but I don't think trucking companies can get that info from the military... just your discharge status. Does it show on your DD 214? Not sure I ever even had to SHOW that to a trucking company.

Worse case? Pay for a substance abuse eval and classes if necessary, and have that available next time it comes up. DOT regs require that you complete such a class before being hireable again, but with proof and a good result, many companies WILL take you on.

TRUCKIN' AIN'T FOR WUSSES!!!

"I am willing to admit that I was wrong." The Rev.
Old 01-09-2012, 08:19 PM
Rookie