User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2012, 06:13 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default new to trucking

I got my cdl back in march of 2011.In July I was lucky enough to have the owner of a small local carrier go to the school i graduated from and ask if they could recommend any students,well I got hired all well and good.However I would like to do OTR and it seems what I am doing now nobody will consider me without actual OTR experience.Then to make matters worse I had several DWIs the last one almost 17 years ago,that has cost me 2 jobs as a guy was going to hire me for specialized hauling 40cpm and when he told the insurance company they said his premium would go up about 40,000$ a year.I realize this is also going to be a huge issue.I have seen you can seek to get that expunged off your record however they will always be on my driving record unless somehow I can get the DMV to also expunge them. I always wanted to drive a big rig and knew this would be an issue but i am going to keep trying until i get that chance.Are some insurance companies more lenient than others?I would like to be an owner/operator eventually would that make it any easier than trying to get on with a big carrier and as soon as they hear more than 2 dwis instant disqualification.Would appreciate any feedback or suggestions.Thanks and stay safe out there
Old 01-09-2012, 11:40 PM
Board Icon
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

I'm afraid, insurance companies are no different than so many other businesses that will use any excuse to add dollar signs. As far as I know, trends like that tend to be industry wide. Any more, insurance companies use dollar signs to dictate who will have a job and who won't. You can research which might be more lenient, then which carriers use them, but you might have better luck going back in time and correct the mistakes.

Old 01-09-2012, 11:51 PM
Board Icon

diesel demon said:

Quote: