User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2011, 04:30 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Need help please, recent grad 10wk/43hr a week truck driving student

Hello and thanks for reading/ consideration and your help.
I graduated 11/04/11 from fox valley tech college truck driving school, a 10 week/ 43 hr a week program. I had streight A's. Drove 6speeds, 8speeds, 9speeds, 10speeds, super 10's and 13 speeds. had van, flatbed, loaded, doubles and tanker training.
prior I was and still am a self employed tattoo artist for 20+ years now prof.
With the down turn in the economy I lost all my properties, ended up homeless living with my wifes parents, after bankruptcy we opened another shop to get buy, but as expected the economy kept getting worse.
She went to school for criminal justice and I went to be a truck driver. I passed my course and graduated on top.
I am 42 years old now.My problem is this, at 16 years old 1986 I got my first felony, party to a crime of armed robbery, long story short, I gave a couple older guys a ride to a gas station for some beer, and one of them ran out with the cash register, I had another felony in 1996 for throwing a brick through a gas station window, atempted buglary they called it. On top of that I have 5 dui's. My last one was in 2003, sitting on the tailgate of my truck drinking a beer believe it or not.
Needless to say I am really ashamed of this and dont need anyone else beating me up over my past.
As you can imagine Ive been turned down by every company I applied at and I understand their reason, being my past. I know it's going to be hard getting into this business and few care to hear about my life, my past is my past and I am a different person, yet getting into this industry with my past is proving near impossible.
At this point Im thinking the best way is to look into becoming a owner operator which is my plan for the future, however I am still a rookie/grad.