User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2011, 09:48 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Looking to get back into driving

Hello,

I'm currently looking to get back into driving truck after being away from it for 3 years. I quit then to go back to school, and now that I finished it my job prospects are very few and far between. Besides, I really don't think I want to work in the field I graduated in. I could make more money driving truck again for certain, and I'm a single 25 year old guy with no wife or kids, so driving wouldn't be too bad of an option for me. At least I know what I'm getting into.

I drove for Swift back in 2007 and got 9 months of OTR experience. I would really prefer to not drive for Swift again (they are too big, you're just a number) but I'm leaving all my options open. However, since my experience is 3 years old, I'm worried companies might not count it when deciding whether to hire me or not. I'm definitely willing to go out for 5 weeks or so with a trainer if the company would require me to. It could never hurt to get back into the swing of things.

I would really like to find some dedicated account or steady run if possible, however I realize it's unlikely I'll be able to jump right into that position and might have to go OTR again.

This all brings me to my question: Do you guys know of any smaller companies (NOT megahaulers) that are good to work for who are looking for drivers at this time? Can anyone just throw some company names out there for me? And is there any advice you would have to someone who wants to get back into driving? I live in western PA if that matters.

I know it's not the greatest job in the world, trust me. I have lived it before, even though it was kinda brief. But in my situation right now, I'm starting to think it might be the best option for me right now. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Tom
Old 03-02-2011, 01:33 AM