User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2009, 06:38 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Red face Getting started blues?

My name is Craig and I will try to keep this brief and to the point. Because I have newbie status I hope I get some leniency on stupid thought processes ( dumb questions ARE better than dumb mistakes ) I completed the CDL license process on April,17, 2009. I am now the proud recipient of a Class-A with all but passenger endorsements and just received my TSA background and fingerprint check for the Hazmat STUFF. Here is the problem I am running into...I have a DUI on my record from February of 2005, actually was arrested back in September of 2004 but thanks to the CA court constipation it has kicked me back to 02/2005. On top of that I have no experience. I am not confused as to the DUI thing "its my own fault" and as everybody has been telling me its the insurance company's. Still some company's will take you on at 3 years no DUI but they want experience. I have been turned down every time and I'm getting scared I will never get to drive. All I'm am looking to do is get experience ANYWHERE and don't even care about the pay. I believe that will come in time with the OTR experience. I have never wanted to do something this bad before "a calling if you will" I will bust my ass and listen until somebody with that knowledge tells me to do otherwise. Oh yeah the other thing I am running into is I live in So. Cal. OK I'll move if that would get me a job. I feel I am a good driver and a safe driver but I need tutelage in a bad way and know the trucking skills don't come overnight. So any help or advise would be greatly appreciated and followed. OK so much for brief, I will shut-up now and do that listening thing.
Old 05-10-2009, 10:24 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon