User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2008, 11:38 AM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default To everything there is a season

And the season at hand is winter! :eek2:

Middle name is Murphy here. I am just beginning my solo career and have absolute no experience/perspective of driving in snow other than in a four wheeler. I have a pocket or two full of common sense, but any advice to drawn on while I am gaining experience would greatly be appreciated. :bow:

Thank you in advance. :thumbsup:
Old 11-22-2008, 12:17 PM
Water Board Administrator
Senior Board Member

OK I'll start. Don't run your defroster when its snowing. The hot air on the windshield melts the snow but the cold air outside refreezes it to your wipers which is why they get caked with ice and won't work. Run the heat thru the floor and your windows should stay clear and your wipers won't freeze.:thumbsup:
Old 11-22-2008, 12:23 PM
Board Regular

Well, when things get bad, i prefer to pull off if I have any doubts in my ability to keep things under control. Often, when things start to get slick, I feel comfortable slowing down and staying on the road. Other times, especially when wind is involved, I just don't think it's worth the risk.

Whatever you do, DON'T EVER let other drivers, be it 4-wheeler or otherwise, try and intimidate you into driving "their" speed. You drive ONLY as fast as YOU feel comfy doing; they'll just have to wait. Remember, THEY aren't going to be paying the bills if you pile your truck up. Furthermore, they won't pay the medical bills for you or anyone unfortunate enough to be involved in an accident, nor will they likely employ you if you lose your job due to said accident.

Somewhere along this thread, I think someone will come on to try and tell you not to set your trailer brakes...
Old 11-22-2008, 12:34 PM
Senior Board Member

Not having much experience myself the only advice I can offer is to ask for runs going south.