User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2008, 09:33 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Your input is requested

Please let me explain a little about myself then allow me to ask a few questions. I am currently employed with a major RV company in Wakarusa Indiana, I have been with them for 17 years and I will 51 years of age in August. The division that I work makes motorhomes that range from 240 to 300k. We have had major changes at work and more are coming, I feel my job "even with 17 years" is not secure and times will only get tougher before they get any better. And since I believe that with the price of fuel being where it is now and no relief in the long term. I have decided to do something major now, instead of waiting for a pink slip.

First let me say that I'm very tired of factory work and as a skilled welder, I am tired of the burns, fumes, smoke and flash that goes with it. I'm not totally sure if I am making the right choice but I have decided to try my hand at trucking.

I will be taking the cdl course up here in South Bend at the CDL school on US23 which is only 9 miles from my house and I will be taking the weekend course. I have already been Pre-Hired with TMC and a few others. Meaning they have seen my app and are willing to hire me once I complete the course and I believe that I will do very well.

I have been married for 30 years and the wife is behind me, she likes the idea that she would be able to ride along once I am stable and have my own take home truck. I think it would be a great way for us to see a different part of the country and get paid to do it.

I am trying to look into the future and I want a job that will be there until I retire. I have talked to atleast 5 different recruiters and they all say the same thing. "There will always be a need for truckers no matter how bad the economy is.

So here are a few questions that I would like to ask all of you.

Do you believe the statement made by the recruiters?