User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2008, 03:21 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Is trucking right for me?

By profession I work with computers and I have done okay; about $48K / year. Back in January I was layed off for the second time and I kinda have lost my faith in Corporate America. I decided to travel around the world by motorcycle. The money didn't last as long as I would have liked and now I need to find some work.

I saw an ad in the paper looking for truckers. They said that the training would take 3 weeks (Mon-Fri) and I would have a total out of pocket expense of only $200. They said the cost of training was $4995 to be paid by the hiring company. They promised that I would have a job lined up before graduation. They said that I could start training on this Monday. There is no pay during training but immediately upon graduation I would earn between $800 / wk and $1500 / wk.

Getting ready for my trip I sold everything I own and canceled my lease. Technically I am homeless, lol so I don't have to return to any home or family anywhere. I am somewhat not a people person or at least don't like being forced to deal with people constantly.

Would trucking allow me to be able to work for a few months on and a few months off? I still want to tour the world and don't know where I would settle from time to time. Would I be able to pick up in any part of the World (or at least US) find work relatively easily for a couple of months?

Thanks everyone for you input.
Old 05-23-2008, 04:07 PM
Rookie

Hi pred8tr....

Just my .02.

I recommend www.newbiedriver.com to get a good idea of what you're getting into. Lots of info.