User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2008, 09:58 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Requirements for Trainers

I have been researching going into truck driving for the past 3 years. At first all I had to go with was the web sites for the truck driving schools, and the company web sites. They both painted nice rosey pictures. It wasn't until I found this site probably 18 months ago that the "true" life of a trucker's day came to light. And I am shocked at what truckers have to put up with.

Trainers: Trainers should meet strict requirements. I don't think anyone with under 1 million miles should be a trainer. I also think trainers need to be evaluated mentally to make sure they have the "teaching" mentality to be a trainer.

I have read DOZENS of stories on this site as well as I have talked to several drivers that have quit their companies because of the trainers. Now, you spend 3 to 4,000 dollars to train a driver, it doesn't make sense that you put them with an unqualified trainer.

As for me, after much, MUCH research, I have decided to apply to Watkins-Shepard. One of the big reasons I'm applying there is that after your 30 days in class, you're on your own. No trainer. And from what I haven't read here, there seems to be no problems with Watkins-Shepard having good drivers. I applied today. We'll have to wait and see what happens.
Old 03-05-2008, 11:05 PM
Board Regular
Default I'd have to see it to believe it...

I agree that a training position should be one that's earned. It's not a small thing to teach another person.
After a number of different, ridiculous sessions that others called "training", I ended up choking and coughing my way into this profession.
You're also VERY right about trainers needing to have the stability of personality and proper motivation for training.