User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2008, 10:54 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Flatbed load secure?

I'm new at flatbeddin' and beginning to think it was a mistake. Of my many concerns, load security seems to be the biggest. Only because I don't like the idea of the load hitting me from behind and pushing me through the engine.

I don't think my truck has enough straps, just 12. I have seen 24 on a Hart truck. My typical load is lumber.
4 tiers high, about 13 feet overall, and 3 or 4 rows from front to back.
The way I read the rules is,
One strap every 5 feet, and straps over the middle of the load if it's higher than 6 feet.

Most of my loads would require 4 straps per 'stack' for the first two tiers and then 4 more over all 4.
I think that may be more than enough, but I only have 12 straps and don't think I can make it legal.

On a load of shingles, I have 14 pairs of pallets front to back.
Each pair weighs over 6400 pounds. My straps are rated at 5600 pounds, but I only have enough for one strap per pair plus a couple for each end.
Am I too concerned about this small discrepancy? It seems like everyone else only puts one strap over shingles. I've even seen loads going down the road with NO straps over the middle rows!

And one more. How do you keep steel from moving? It seems like there is no way to get a chain around some loads that would keep it from moving in an emergency situation. Even if someone cuts me off and I have to stab the brakes pretty good, the load always moves a little.
http://eastcoasthoppers.com/
Old 01-13-2008, 11:33 PM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: Flatbed load secure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChikinTrucka
I'm new at flatbeddin' and beginning to think it was a mistake. Of my many concerns, load security seems to be the biggest. Only because I don't like the idea of the load hitting me from behind and pushing me through the engine.