User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2007, 07:43 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Log book question

I am a part time driver, rest of the time I am in the shop. Does my shop hours count as onduty not driving? If I am over my 60hrs, can I work OT in the shop?(I just cannot drive, right?)
Old 11-02-2007, 07:46 PM
Board Regular

Your company may have a policy as to how to log it but I would log it as off duty.
Old 11-02-2007, 07:54 PM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: Log book question

Quote:
Originally Posted by NHHunter
I am a part time driver, rest of the time I am in the shop. Does my shop hours count as onduty not driving? If I am over my 60hrs, can I work OT in the shop?(I just cannot drive, right?)
Yes, your shop hours ( or ANY hours you work for pay regardless of who it is for ) must be counted as on duty not driving.

Yes you can work all you want to over 60 hrs. it just can't be behind the wheel. Don't forget, you must take a 24hr break before you can drive again. That could only leave you one day to work in the shop.
Old 11-02-2007, 08:18 PM
Board Regular

Ridge-Why are the shop hours counted as on duty? I haven't actually done a logbook yet but at the school the impression I got was that as long as your not driving, loading, unloading, or in the sleeper than I would be logged as off duty.
Old 11-02-2007, 08:22 PM
Board Regular

I agree with Ridge Runner, all work time, reguardless of whether it is with your principle employer or part time for burger king is by law required to be logged as working. After your 60 hour (assuming you are 7 day/60 hour) you must have a 34 hour reset prior to driving again. This could really screw a person up around Christmas time trying to earn a little extra cash!!