User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2007, 09:03 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Dispatch buster/taping phone calls

I registered after reading some comments on other threads about taping phone calls and the potential use of the tapes to incriminate companies/dispatchers blatantly ignoring drivers when drivers are explaining that they can't do the assigned load in the given time, and whether those tapes would be admissible as evidence.

I have a degree in communications, and as such have been through courses covering the legalities of taped conversations and how they could be used. The short answer is if the other party did not know they were being taped, then you are never going to be able to use that tape as evidence. At least that is what we were told in classes.

However, what you can do is write a verbatim transcript of the conversation and submit that, and that would be admissible. You don't even need to tape the conversation, just document the conversation as soon as possible after it takes place. It doesn't need to be grammatically correct, just note the date/time, write down what you told your dispatcher and what the response was.

Be factual, not emotional. Facts carry weight, and phone records can be used to verify the call actually took place, and for how long you spoke.

The other thing I wanted to offer was if you are in a situation where you are having to start making written records, it's probably time to start looking for another job. When it gets to that point (and I have been there) the people you are dealing with are not people you want to deal with anyway. I do it to protect myself from future actions that may take place. But I also move on as quickly as possible.

The best way to avoid getting into trouble is to get out of the situation that is pushing you in that direction to begin with, I think.
Old 09-23-2007, 09:32 PM
Board Icon