User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2012, 01:56 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Getting a OTR job without the OTR experience

I am 25 years old. I obtained my CDL on my own 3 years ago. I have 8-9 months driving experience with a tractor trailer but none was OTR it was all basically local driving. Other then that I have 2 Years straight truck experience. I used to drive a dump truck and at my current job I drive a tandem 4000 gal. used oil tanker. I really want to get a job driving over the road it has been my dream since I was little. I have noticed it seems impossible to get a job without experience or recently graduating from a driving school. Does anyone know of any companies that would hire me or that have training programs to get me into the field. Any help would be greatly appreciated I am willing to do anything.
Old 09-01-2012, 08:41 PM
Rookie
Default Where have you applied?

You should easily get any large company to hire you, especially if your driving record is clear. Schneider (stinks), USA Truck, Old Dominion, Conway, CRST, Heartland, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sjbscottyb1 View Post
I am 25 years old. I obtained my CDL on my own 3 years ago. I have 8-9 months driving experience with a tractor trailer but none was OTR it was all basically local driving. Other then that I have 2 Years straight truck experience. I used to drive a dump truck and at my current job I drive a tandem 4000 gal. used oil tanker. I really want to get a job driving over the road it has been my dream since I was little. I have noticed it seems impossible to get a job without experience or recently graduating from a driving school. Does anyone know of any companies that would hire me or that have training programs to get me into the field. Any help would be greatly appreciated I am willing to do anything.
Old 09-03-2012, 03:03 AM
Rookie

Do you prefer any one of them company's over the other?
Old 09-03-2012, 06:52 AM