User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2007, 11:08 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default ok,,,,what's it really like?

question: What's it really like out there? I'm headed to school, signed up with a co., and ready to go.
little background info for ya before you answer........
I'm 30 yrs. old]
nobody at home....
wandering spirit...(when I graduated high school, I backpacked around the country for 2 1/2 years
I've been driving for a moving company, and love the road so far...(we stay in hotels tho)
I'm a rugged sort, camp, rock climb, etc...
just love seeing new sights I guess.

I'm just looking for what to expect, and what to watch out for...
thanks,
M
Old 08-02-2007, 11:20 PM
Senior Board Member

Its got good points, and bad points. What specifically are you wondering about?
Old 08-02-2007, 11:25 PM
Board Icon

Just depends on the person, some absolutely love being OTR and not getting home for a month or more. Some find out that they hate it once they get out on the road and really run. You will not stay in a hotel, it's more like staying in a small doghouse. It is what you make of it.
Old 08-02-2007, 11:37 PM

If you've got the wandering spirit, you'll probably love it.

The biggest issues for me, so far, are:
1) Finding a suitable place to park at night (or you may opt to drive only at night and sleep during the day more on this later). Most truckstops, you may have noticed, fill up quickly by 8pm. Same with rest areas. And with the tolls some states charge, there is NO excuse for not having enough parking spaces.

If you manage to find a spot, you'll have to deal with airport/rock concert volume levels; You're going to actually sleep with that going on?

Everyone insists on running their engine at 1000rpm when they sleep. I do not know why. I guess truckers have fast metabolisms or something.