User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2007, 05:05 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Setting up to back up

Could someone please help me?! My backing up is getting better. I can hit the hole after only 3 or 4 pull ups now. But, my set up sucks. I almost always screw up the set up, which contributes to my number of pull ups.

So, with all these "ups", could someone please step "up" and give me some good advice? Thanks in advance.
Old 07-12-2007, 05:34 PM

i am no pro by any means nor do i pretend to be one. heck my road tests tomorrow. but what helps me is th try and set up so the trailer is angled in towards the spot before u even start backing so it would look kind of like a crooked strait back. also GOAL . get out and look. i honestly did little to no goal during school and my instructors did not mention it at al. but then when i finally did it forthe first time about a week and a half ago. the instructor took notice and and its helped me to back everytime since with either one pull up or none as opposed to my usual 3 pullups. it looks a certain way in the truck but when u get out and see you will start to mentally visualize if its gonna go in .... wow longwinded for a rookie who still admittedly pulls up huh?

EDIT: also if its alleydocking perpendicular to dock (like from street) , try to go past like 2- 3 trailers worth of space from the spot so u have decent room to back. its something i kinda noticd from my yard at school and that helps to have enough room.
Old 07-12-2007, 06:44 PM
Senior Board Member