User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2007, 05:46 AM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Life in the granny lane

OK, I have been driving for 6 months now and I think I am defective or something.

SPEED
First of all I drive the speed limit. I don't pace other trucks. I don't go a few mph over. Even in Ohio, I drive the speed limit. I also get passed by every truck on the road. Even JB Hunt flies by me in Ohio.

CONSTRUCTION
In a construction zone I obey the posted speed. If there are lanes shifting I may even go up to 5mph slower. I also get passed by every truck on the road. Even JB Hunt flies by me in construction zones.

MOUNTAINS
On a 6% grade I go down in 8th gear with full jake. The problem is I am only going about 40 miles per hour. This one really isn't my fault because 9th gear takes me up to 60-65mph. I just don't feel safe driving down a mountain at 65mph. I also get passed by every truck on the road. Even JB Hunt flies by me on mountain declines.

EXIT RAMPS
I take exit ramps at the posted recommended speed. I saw a Werner truck take a 40mph ramp at 70. I could have sworn he was going to turn it over.

Am I being too worried? I read all the time about the death of a driver that was going too fast. Is it my newbie-ness, or my safe driving coming out? It's not that I drive with fear, but caution. I also see no need to drive for free for a few days by risking a ticket.
Old 07-09-2007, 06:42 AM
Board Regular
Default Re: Life in the granny lane

Quote:
Originally Posted by spencerian
OK, I have been driving for 6 months now and I think I am defective or something.

SPEED
First of all I drive the speed limit. I don't pace other trucks. I don't go a few mph over. Even in Ohio, I drive the speed limit. I also get passed by every truck on the road. Even JB Hunt flies by me in Ohio.

CONSTRUCTION