User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2007, 12:23 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default help with speed trap

i am a fairly new driver about nine months under my belt

i got caught in a speed trap leaving adair county in ok the other day

when leaving the town on 69 n there are three progressively increasing spead signs 45/55/65 in between the 45 and 55 i started to accellerate to reach spead and about 10 or 20 ft before the 55mph sign the "nice" leo tagged me at 58 he caught me about a mile out of town and pulled me over

now the ticket kinda low in my opinion was only 120 dollars but like a good mafia member he was nice enough to let me know that for an extra 50 bucks i can defer the ticket and if they don't tag me again for 30 days the ticket goes away and does not go on my record

now i do belong to one of those legal plans for drivers but considering the price of the ticket is it even worth fighting ....and has anyone ever used one of adair or ok deferments do they actually honor them

ps i want to start a boycot of ok whenever possible i will no longer spend money or visit the state in my personal vehicle ...granted i am still a little angry in 12 years of driving this is my first ticket ...but i was craving pasta after the leo left
Old 06-30-2007, 12:43 PM
Senior Board Member

Which means you were clocked at 58 in a 45... I'd pay the tickets and count your blessings. You weren't trapped and the "mafia" sure wasn't involved
Old 06-30-2007, 12:48 PM
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)

Pay the extra $50 also.
Old 06-30-2007, 12:59 PM
Rookie

You said 10-20 feet before the sign, not sure about ok, but here in Georgia the speed limit begins when you can see the sign, not after you pass it.
Old 06-30-2007, 01:12 PM
Default signs

i questioned the leo about that ok/city of adair states that the speed zone is when you pass the sign