User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2007, 02:52 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Opinions- my Life choices

Hey guys. I sent this message to a couple of guys that I have great respect for on here but for those of you that I don't know very well, I'd like your opinions. Here is a synopsis of me and my situation:

I'm 30 years old and I get married in 2 months. My fiancee has a wonderful 8 year old daughter. I'm a also moving from Tucson, AZ back home to Huntsville, AL. I've always had a passion and want to get into trucking. However, I don't want to be gone all the time. I am currently a manager for a large company and I make $70K a year. I also have an MBA from Arizona State. So, I have business and management skills. I'm at a point where I'm ready for a change. My fiancee is getting out of the Air Force and she is planning on opening a day care at our new house that i"m building in Alabama. She also sells Mary Kay on the side and she'll is retiring from the military so we'll have abouta 2K check a month from the government each month on top of whatever our earnings are. We both have strong entreprenurial (spelling) desires. I have narrowed my new career path down to:

Trucking- to learn the industry on someone elses dime. I looked at Roehl 7 on 7 off and then I can run a part time business the other week. If I like the trucking, I might consider O/O later on.

Commercial and/or residential cleaning- VERY low initial investment- good money in this but obviously hard work. A good friend of mine with business sense started this 2 months ago and is at 5K gross a month in contracts. Hard work and odd hours like nights and weekends though.

Mobile Car detailing service- Seems to be a good industry with a low initial investment of 6K or so.

So, knowing my situation, what is your opinion? Thanks!

Anthony
Old 02-21-2007, 02:54 PM
Senior Board Member
Default Choices