User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2007, 06:49 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Thinking of getting in...

I'm considering getting into the trucking biz. I hear stories of positive and negative about every company. I also hear stories of people not getting paid or too much idle time. I'm wondering if this is relative to location or is it just the company? There's probably no perfect job, but I think if I get some experience and take it for a year or two, I can look for a job that may suit my needs a little better. I hear a lot of people going to the big wigs like Swift, CRST, and England just to get a CDL and experience, then move on to try to find a local gig. That's what I'm considering.

Another thing, I want to relocate to Washington from California. How will this play out if I join a company now and then want to move later? Go easy, remember I'm new to this.
Old 02-18-2007, 06:57 AM
Board Regular
Default Re: Thinking of getting in...

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeroeffort
I'm considering getting into the trucking biz. I hear stories of positive and negative about every company. I also hear stories of people not getting paid or too much idle time. I'm wondering if this is relative to location or is it just the company? There's probably no perfect job, but I think if I get some experience and take it for a year or two, I can look for a job that may suit my needs a little better. I hear a lot of people going to the big wigs like Swift, CRST, and England just to get a CDL and experience, then move on to try to find a local gig. That's what I'm considering.

Another thing, I want to relocate to Washington from California. How will this play out if I join a company now and then want to move later? Go easy, remember I'm new to this.
thats one positive about this job relocating is a lot easier because as long as the company you work for hires in the area you plan to move to its not a problem.
Old 02-18-2007, 07:03 AM