User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2006, 03:23 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Pros and Cons to being a truck driver?

Hi all,

First I have to say that this is a very informative forum you have here. Just by browsing the forum, I gained allot of information.

Anyways I'm currently looking for a career, after 4 years of being a automotive mechanic I'm just tired of it. So I'm keeping my tools for a hobby, and starting to look into other fields. At first I was dedicated into joining the National Guard, spent 1 year losing damn near 100lbs, went to MEPS 3 times, and was permanently disqualified because of my eyes. Tried to do lasik and they basically told me that in the future I'm going to be blind if I dont get my lens replaced.

So I'm down to 3 careers ATM, which is HVAC, computers, and CDL. Now my reason in wanting to get a CDL is because my Uncle is making a very good living working for the USPS. I mean this guy haves like 8 different kids with 3 different women, this guy haves to make allot of money to pay that child support. And my next door neighbor is living the American dream with his CDL.

And now that I'm starting to look into getting a CDL, I'm finding all these companies willing to pay me to get it ( our at least that's what their sign says)! I mean hell why not, right?

So why not become a truck driver? Every school I've talked too says there's no reason not to become a truck driver. That's a load of bull.

So what is the pros and cons into being a truck driver?
Old 12-30-2006, 03:27 AM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: Pros and Cons to being a truck driver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aintgotnomoney
Hi all,

First I have to say that this is a very informative forum you have here. Just by browsing the forum, I gained allot of information.