User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2006, 04:56 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default start trucking

i have a few questions i am presently a school teacher i am looking at leaving the field and begin driving i was wondering if i could could make the same thing and e home nightly i really need that because i have two young children any information will help please
Old 09-26-2006, 05:06 PM
Default Re: start trucking

Quote:
Originally Posted by okra77
i have a few questions i am presently a school teacher i am looking at leaving the field and begin driving i was wondering if i could could make the same thing and e home nightly i really need that because i have two young children any information will help please
Highly doubt it. Most locals that pay anything worth working for require a minimum of a years experience OTR.
Old 09-26-2006, 05:10 PM
Rookie

what do you think i could make on a local run home nightlly really you would be suprised what teachers make in mississippi
Old 09-26-2006, 05:11 PM
Senior Board Member

I will say that its highly unlikely that you will match your current pay with a local job. The reasons are: 1, you have no experience so for the vast majority of companies you are not hireable. 2, you would be competing with experienced drivers with good and established experience and safety records.

You did not indicate in your profile or post where you live, so you can only get generic responses.

One of your only hopes is to get with a concrete company or someone like that who will help you get a Class B license, and who pays decently.

Whether or not your pay would be the same or better....who knows.

If I were you, I would take a good long hard look at my degree and qualifications....and then work every search engine on the net to death looking for a job where I could use my current skill set and possibly end up with a better job and income. I would do that before I would even consider this.