User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2008, 03:22 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default New to the industry and life style

Hi everyone. I am brand new to the trucking industry and the life style. I saw several topics related to this, all were kind of old, so....

My husband used to work retail as a sales person for a nationwide chain. Things had not been going very well and neither of us really liked the bad hours and the way he was treated so...he searched for a new career direction. I told him that I would support him in whatever choice he made. He had basically sat back and waited while I developed my career and earned by bachelor's degree for the last ten years, so now its my turn to be there for him.

We live in Maryland and have two sons, 11 and 5 (plus a heard of pets ).

He attended a driving school and just this past week he completed orientation with his new company. We are not delusional with our expectations. We both know that it is not going to be easy, emotionally or financially. We are hoping that financially things will get better, they really can't get much worse considering over the past year, he has been without a paycheck more often than he has had one.

I guess that I am just writing to say "hi" to everyone and maybe make some "friends" that know a heck of a lot more about the industry than I do. I am a fairly solitary person and live in a very rural area so I have very few friends. Just here to have someone's "ear" to bend every once in a while.
Old 05-27-2008, 03:36 PM
Senior Board Member

It's Nice to have New Peeps,

Welcome TRex,