User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2008, 03:10 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Missing the road

About a year ago my husband decided to quit driving OTR for a company and to go back to doing locall work. He was a truck driver for 3 yrs.which out of them 3 I went with him on most of his runs. The first yr. was really hard to adjust to as I had always been a stay at home mom before that. But with our boys all being older,17 then it was also nice to get out and see the world just me and my hubby. My husband called me his co-pilot. I studied while on the road and was able to pass my cdl test and get my cdl permit,in hopes that one day we could become team drivers.Needless to say I never was able to take the road test becouse of not having a truck to drive to take the test.Eventually too much time lasped and I lost the permit(their only good for 5 months).Anyhow here I am back to being a stay at home wife while my husband works locally. I have so so missed being out on the road.It has a way of getting into your blood and not letting go. I try to remember the bad times too, but it I cant get it out of my system. I,ve tried talking to my husband and letting him know how I feel but he's just not ready to go back to OTR right now. We live in a remote area where work is really hard to come by or i would be working myself , if nothing else to have something to do. AS it is we live 10 miles from town and only have one vehicle to drive so that alone makes that option a challenge with the work routine my husband has now. What I really hope for is that one day my husband will get sick of the job he's doing now (which by the way is the very same job he got sick of to go to truck driving) and decide to go back to what he loved to do at one point in his life which was driving. I know he still has some of it in his blood too or he would'nt have his cb in our pickup and another cb base in our house. There's really nothing like being out on the roa