User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2008, 12:00 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Hello All

I'm a newbie to this forum (been lurking and scoping for a couple of days before joining), but not a newbie to being a truckers wife ...

I'm not sure how this all works yet, but I'll figure it out.

I have a question for y'all, and I hope this will help me to make a concrete decision.

My hubby has been driving for 14 years now (both local and OTR). He's hauled just about every trailer known to man, and gone to places that don't even show up on Mapquest. We've known each other for nearly 10 of those years, and are sneaking up on our fourth wedding anniversary. Of that four years, I think we've seen each other for maybe eight months total. . . that's tough on the nerves, especially with four kids in the mix (two are mine from before).

He's been complaining for years that he wants to get a local job and be home with us every night, but (and here's my dilemma) I worry that if he does that, we'll end up another statistic and get divorced!

I've learned to live with him being home periodically; doing everything a woman is supposed to in running the house and raising the kids while finding time to work full time periodically.

When we talk, and he takes that 'tone' that tells me he's considering turning in notice to the company, I end up blurting out something stupid like, "But we finally have health insurance!" and his tone turns from lonely to angry instantly. Or I'll go the other route when I'm having a bad day, and call him screaming, "Turn in your two weeks notice; I'm not going to be married to a mystery! If I knew I was gonna be doing it all by myself, I wouldn't have married again in the first place!"

He tried the 'local work' scene for about three months, and I thought we were all going to lose our minds! He finally fell apart and went back OTR just to save his own sanity.