User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2012, 12:05 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question Lighting ???????????????????????????????????????

Hello everyone,

This is my first time here and I want to tell you up front I am not a driver but had some friends in the past who were. I am a retired machnist with a question.

I haven't seen any lately but back in the day I used to see them a lot. They were in on conventional rigs. mounted in front or beside the headlights, and extended op past the top of the fenders. They looked like a clear plastic rod with a red tip at the top so when the lights were on the tip would glow red. I assumed they were like fiber optic rod and the drive could tell where the front corner of the rig was.

Does anyone know what they are called and where I can get a pair.

I just traded my boat for another one and on the first one I could see the tail lights in my mirrors so I alwaws knew if they were working. But on this one I can't see them and there is no plase to move them to that would help. And it bothers me. I thought I a pair of those rods might work.

Thanks
Jake
Old 11-21-2012, 12:48 PM
Board Icon
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)

They are called ~ stainless steel illuminated bumper guides.... or just bumper guides.
Google that, and you will find plenty of online stores that sell them.
check on eBay

Old 11-22-2012, 05:42 AM
Senior Board Member

If you go up to the north west corner of Michigan, you can probably find a set in Hoggies garage.
Old 11-22-2012, 11:42 AM
Board Icon

...they're in with a stack of old CB antennas.

I hope JBIII comes back and tells us some of his fishing stories.

Old 11-23-2012, 07:36 PM
Rookie

Thanks guys I found the guides, however they won't work for this application. I need to use fiber optics.

You asked for a fishing story, you get one.